Carel van Driel


The building of 1.
The building of 2.
The building of 3.
About Me.


Born on 27 February 1959 and raised in Gendt by Nijmegen in the Netherlands.Where is Gendt?

At this moment I am living together with my wife and kids in Dordrecht . That is about 20 KM SE of Rotterdam.

My parents allowed us very much. We got room for almost everything. From Motocross to radiopirat. And from pony riding to speed swimming. I did so many things in the past, it's to much to write down here.

From the age of 15 I have been working in the bakery. First in my fathers bakery. Later on I did work for a couple of other bakeries. After that my wife and I started a bakery for our self in Dordrecht.

About 6 years back we stopped with this bakery.

After that I started working as a mechanic (!!!) for Jan de Ruyter Bakery equipment.

After a while I changed my job and started working for Tromp Bakery Equipment . And that is were I am working now for the past 5 years.

At Tromp I am mainly occupied with figuring out and building al kinds of testing setups, to give us solutions in all kinds of problems. Or as we mostly call them challenges. And I also do a lot of research for new machinery.

With this job I have combined my hobby and work. I can put a lot of my creativity in this job. In the past 5 years I have learned a lot of new things, and every day I learn a little bit more. I can say now that I know a bit from a lot of things. 

I started sailing in the year 2000. I should have done that much earlier.

KorsarI bought myself an open sailing boat then. Most of the time I am sailing together with my daughter.

The type of boat that we are using is a Korsar. This sailboat is quite popular in Germany. It used to be an Olympic class in the past. It's a pretty fast sailboat. It's 5 meters long and about 1,7 meters wide. It's a fine boat to learn sailing. It is reacting very fast to everything so you have to be on your post at all time. With a little bit of wind it picks up speed very fast and you can have a lot of fun then.

Dordrecht is an island, and on one side (SW) we have what we call Het Hollands Diep and of course De Biesbos.  We sail there a lot. It is a very fine location to sail but with a lot of traffic  from the professional shippers.

Because we are used to this boat, I had a good idea about what the next boat should look like.

  1. It should be fast.
  2. Stable
  3. I have to be able to handle the boat by my one.
  4. And as usually with me, it should be something original and new.
  5. And last but not least I should be able to build it by my self.

The choice was not that difficult. Once I had found the Didi Mini everything was clear. A mini 650, that's what it should be.

I wanted to have something to do in the evening when I am at home and in the weekends. So I decided that I would build this boat. In the backyard actually, so that I wouldn't need to travel before I could do something on my boat.


       Home | The building of 1. | The building of 2. | The building of 3. | Video's. | About Me. | For sale | Feedback. | Link's | Latest News | The weather